Senators Chuck Grassley (R-IA) and Byron Dorgan (D-ND) introduced S. 1486, the “Rural America Preservation Act,” which would limit farm program payments to $250,000. The bill caps direct payments at $20,000; counter-cyclical payments at $30,000; and marketing loan gains (including forfeitures), loan deficiency payments, and commodity certificates at $75,000. This legislation has passed the Senate in the past and will be considered this year during the farm bill debate.