Wednesday, July 9, 2014 - 19:21

***Applause!***

Wednesday, June 4, 2014 - 11:10

A great list! My dad used to always say "The cows eat before we do".

I hope you enjoy your time off with your new baby (when that time comes)! We'll miss your posts, but those first...

Monday, June 2, 2014 - 10:47

I'm sorry to hear that you think AI'ing is too difficult or expensive. I'm not an expert on the economics, but we do have a bit of experience with providing a custom AI service to many large and...

Monday, April 28, 2014 - 14:30

Theme suggestion - What are you proud of on your ranch? (Could be a specific cow, bull, or a livestock practice, innovative idea, etc.)

Monday, April 21, 2014 - 13:08

I vote for Tater. Good photo Kristian!

Wednesday, February 26, 2014 - 12:06

Amen to this comment. The best way to wrap up my sentiments on docility in one sentence.

Tuesday, February 11, 2014 - 14:20

I can agree with your sentiments....I was having a hard time staying positive when we were hit with harsh winter weather last weekend as well. But it's like my husband Clint says - "If it were...

Tuesday, January 28, 2014 - 11:28

Congratulations! No advice here, I'm not a mother (but I do love to eat beef) - but I do want to wish you a healthy pregnancy, and again - congrats!

Tuesday, January 21, 2014 - 16:26

Great list! We give our new born calves a shot of Bo-Se at birth (but perhaps that is just a regional need here), and I might also add a soft but study cotton rope with a D ring braided in to the...

Wednesday, January 15, 2014 - 11:06

I blog about our life on the ranch at www.sscharolais.blogspot.com.

Some of my favorite ag blogs are...

Monday, December 23, 2013 - 16:27

#1 - Our Christmas Card by Lindsay Murdock!

Monday, October 28, 2013 - 15:28

Ed - I agree with you that there are cows with excellent mothering abilities can be high headed. We don't usually cull cows like those, unless they are a significant threat. (We tag a few calves...

Monday, October 28, 2013 - 10:31

We cull cows in our commercial herd based on a few reasons.
1. Open cows are automatically culled. Research proves year after year that you can't afford to hold over an open cow, or roll...

Wednesday, October 23, 2013 - 12:43

"Easy feeding makes for better breeding!"

Wednesday, October 23, 2013 - 12:39

We had a Charolais cow named {Scratch} who you could walk right up to in the field and scratch on her. And she was a tank - structurally correct and she weaned great calves. But her disposition...

Thursday, September 19, 2013 - 11:10

Steve - as I was writing this, I kept reminding myself not to be negative or snarky. But the fact of the matter is that your comment angers me. The last time I checked, people still need to eat...

Monday, September 9, 2013 - 14:08

Great topic!

Where I live, the Oregon Beef Council organizes a "Beef Blitz" each spring, where students from Oregon State and adults from cattle operations travel to Portland (very...

Wednesday, August 14, 2013 - 11:46

I choose to put my money where my mouth is - and for us, we do not eat at Chipotle, nor will we begin to because their philosphy is still not in alignment with ours. I believe that niche...

Thursday, August 8, 2013 - 14:34

Congrats to the caption winners! And thanks for including my blog post above - there's a lot of great cattle enthusiasts out there supporting a great extracurricular activity for youth!

Friday, August 2, 2013 - 17:14

"Hoss"

Sponsored Introduction Continue on to (or wait seconds) ×