Alliance Web Address Contact Year estab. Cattle in alliance in 2008 Average premium paid Cost Minimum head Grids geared to QG, YG or both (see key at bottom of page) Par point on grid Carcass weight on grid Harvest states Required genetics Practices required: S, W, P, N (see key at bottom of page) Electronic ID capable Retained ownership required Aligned with specific feeders, packers or retailers Cow-calf producer post-harvest premium
Certified Angus Beef, LLC Feedlot Licensing Program (FLP) www.cabpartners.com Steve Suther, 785-889-4162, ssuther@certifiedangusbeef.com CAB: 1978, FLP: 1998 >200,000 Ch/Sel + $4.50/cwt. None 1 Both Varies with packer Varies with packer CO, IA, ID, IL, KS, MI, MN, NE, PA, TX, WA, WI, UT, CAN 50% or greater Angus preferred N/A Y Varies with feedlot 80 feeders, 26 packers, 6,000 retailers, 7,000 restaurants and international distributors Varies with feedlot
Certified Angus Beef Natural www.cabpartners.com/feedlots/natural.php Steve Suther, 785-889-4162, ssuther@certifiedangusbeef.com 2003 >100,000 Varies with packer None Varies with packer Both N/A N/A NE, UT 50% or greater Angus N, S, never had implants, antibiotics or animal-derived feeds Y N Tyson Foods and Niman Ranch Varies with packer
Certified Hereford Beef, LLC www.herefordbeef.org Office, 816-842-3758 1995 462,000 $14-$22/hd; age and source premium: $35/hd None N/A Both Choice YG4 or less, Choice & Select 600-1,000 lbs. NE, KS 100% British, at least 50% Hereford Corn feeding Y N Greater Omaha Packing Co., National Beef Packing LLC, Hereford Verified feeders Y
Consolidated Beef Producers www.consolidatedbeef.com Bruce Cobb, 806-655-8955, bruce@consolidatedbeef.com 2000 1.5+ million marketings Confidential and varies based on program $3,000 (one-time) membership fee and cattle marketing service fee N/A Both Varies, depending on grid options Varies, depending on grid options TX, NM, OK, KS, CO, NE, WY, IA, MN, SD N/A Varies, depending on program specs Y N Horizontal alliance with producers N/A
Country Natural Beef www.countrynaturalbeef.com Dan Probert, 541-473-3355, marketing@countrynaturalbeef.com 1986 50,000 Cost of production/return on investment Responsibility of being member of co-op (9 days/year) 120 Both High Select, low Choice YG1 & 2 600-775 lbs. WA Cattle selected by biological type S, N, food alliance certification, no ionophores, cattle owned from birth Y Y Retailer — Natural Food Stores, packer — AB Foods, feeder — Beef Northwest Cost of production/return on investment
Creekstone Farms www.creekstonefarms.com Ryan Meyer, 620-741-3321, rmeyer@cfpbeef.com 1998 260,000 $12-$100/hd None None QG Choice YG3.3 550-950 lbs. KS Black Angus S and age-verified program requires third-party certification. Natural program requires never/ever affidavit from birth. Non-Hormone Treated Cattle Program (NHTC) requires third-party certification. Y N Y Y
Decatur Beef Alliance www.decaturfeedyard.com Kevin Unger, 888-675-2212, kevin@decaturfeedyard.com 1994 40,000 Varies Approximately $9/hd Load lot of same sex Both Choice YG3 550-1,000 lbs. KS < 25% Bos indicus P, S, preweaning Y Y, 50% Packer — Cargill Meat Solutions N/A
GeneNet www.genenetbeef.com Ken Conway, 758-628-3004, genenet@eaglecom.net 1998 70,000 $20 to $90/hd $3 to $4/hd 20 Both Choice YG3 535-950 lbs. NE, CO None None Y Doesn't matter Packer — JBS Y
Laura's Lean Beef www.laurasleanbeef.com Scott Coakley, VP of cattle procurement, 800-392-9389, scoakley@llbcorp.com 1985 70,000 $85 plus freight to slaughter None None Both Select YG 2.3-2.4 and Choice YG 2.0-2.9 575-825 lbs. NE, WI, TX High percentage Continental N, S, W, P Y N N/A For load lots of cattle, 35% of slaughter bonus
Meyer Natural Angus www.meyernaturalangus.com Jim Norwood, 816-769-7334, jnorwood@re-meyer.com or Blake Angell, 785-410-3750, bangell@re-meyer.com 1995 Confidential $100+/hd slaughter premium None None QG Select YG3 600-1,000 lbs. NE Minimum 50% Red or Black Angus S, W, P, N Y N Y N
Montana Ranch Brand Natural www.montanaranchbrand.com Jake Eshelman, 406-294-2333, jake@montanaranchbrand.com 1994 10,000 $75-$125/hd retained ownership None Potload Both YG2.8 and Choice-Select 700-900 lbs NE Continental/British cross S, W, P, N Y N Retailer direct Y, under certain conditions
Montana Ranch Brand Piedmontese www.montanaranchbrand.com Jake Eshelman, 406-294-2333, jake@montanaranchbrand.com 2000 10,000 $35-$50 cow-calf or $100-$130 retained ownership None Potload Both YG2.8 and Choice-Select 700-900 lbs. NE Piedmontese/British cross S, W, P, N Y N Retailer direct Y, under certain conditions
Nolan Ryan's Guaranteed Tender Meats www.nolanryanbeef.com Coy Meyring, 806-457-1389, cmeyring@nolanryanbeef.com 2000 Confidential Varies None 1 YG Choice and Select, YG1 & 2 600-899 lbs. TX, CA None, prefer Bos indicus N N/A N Feeder, packer, retailer N
Painted Hills Natural Beef www.paintedhillsnaturalbeef.com Will Homer, 541-763-2333, will.homer@natural-beef.com 1996 2,400 $90+/hd None 40 QG Choice 700-1,000 lbs. WA Angus-based S, N, no hormones, antibiotics or animal by-products N/A N Feeder, Packer, retailer N/A
Performance Plus - Retained Ownership Don Cain Jr., 888-269-8387, performance@alloisp.com 1993 Confidential $33.23/hd $7.50/hd 1 Both N/A 500-1,000 lbs. IA, KS, NE, CO, MO, SD 50-75% British, 25-50% Continental MSI scanned Y Y Nebraska Corn COOP & their investor members and its participating feedyards, based on contracts. This strategic alliance brings grass roots producers together with technology, cattle and corn/corn coproducts N
Performance Plus - Sale Barn Don Cain Jr., 888-269-8387, performance@alloisp.com 1993 Confidential $27.06/hd $8/hd 1 Both N/A 500-1,000 lbs. IA, KS, NE, CO, MO, SD 50-75% British, 25-50% Continental MSI scanned, S, Vac 45 Y Y Nebraska Corn COOP & their investor members and its participating feedyards, based on contracts. This strategic alliance brings grass roots producers together with technology, cattle and corn/corn coproducts N
Power Genetics www.powergenetics.com Jason Anderson, 308-493-5604, jasona@powergenetics.com 1993 Confidential Confidential None 35 Both Confidential Confidential Confidential Power Genetics and/or greater than 50% Angus S, W, P Y Y Confidential Y
Premium Gold Angus Beef www.pgabeef.com Ron VanderBoon, 616-361-2808, 616-485-4257 (cell), rvboon@msn.com 1993 150,000 $12-$120/hd None 40 Both Choice YG3 600-1,000 lbs. WI 50% Angus S, W, P Y N N/A Y, with PGA approved bulls
Red Angus Feeder Calf Certification Program www.redangus.org Mikalena Randazzo, 940-387-3502, mikalena@redangus.org; Myron Edelman, 307-351-6032, myron@redangus.org 1995 100,000 Depends on location $1.19/hd or $3.25/hd depending upon type of ear tag selected (just visual or visual/EID combo set) 1 QG Choice YG3 550-975 lbs. CO, NE, KS 50% Red Angus, calves must have one registered Angus parent S, age Y N Cargill Meat Solutions, Meyer Natural Angus, US Premium Beef/National Beef, Decatur County Beef Alliance, Beef Northwest Feeders, GeneNet with JBS Swift, 70/70 grid with JBS Swift N
Snake River Farms www.snakeriverfarms.com Wade Small, 208-226-5215, 208-243-1813 (cell), wade.small@agribeef.com 1990 N/A N/A N/A 70 N/A N/A N/A WA Wagyu S, N Y N Agri Beef Co. Y
Tallgrass Beef Company Ron Ladner, cattle procurement manager, 877-822-8283, rladner@tallgrassbeef.com 2004 N/A 85 None No minimum Both High Select/YG3 500-900 lbs. KS, CA Predominantly British based S, W, P, N Y Not required, but preferred N/A N/A
TwoRiver Cattle, American Simmental Association 7070 Beef www.7070beef.com Mark Guge, 515-231-6849, mguge@netins.net 2003 40,000 $33/hd $4/hd NA Both Choice YG3A 550-1,000 lbs. NE, CO None Premium for S & age cattle with PVP certification Y N Packer — JBS Swift N
U.S. Premium Beef, LLC www.uspremiumbeef.com Tracy Thomas, 866-877-2525, tlthomas@uspb.com 1996 735,000 $27.42/hd Membership and units access 20 Both 50% Choice YG3 575-1,000 lbs. KS, CA Breeds with high-quality grade carcass traits None Y N Packer — National Beef Packing Co. Y
Calf-Based Programs
AngusSource Sara Snider, 816-383-5100, ssnider@angus.org 2003 99,000 Varies $50 enrollment and $1/hd for visual tag or $3.25/hd for RFID-matched pair set. 1 N/A N/A N/A Varies Sired by a registered Angus bull — minimum of 50% Angus genetics S, age, genetics Y N For genetic verification — National Beef Packing Co. and Tyson Fresh Meats N
Cargill Cattle Feeders - Sharing Total Added Value (STAV) Program Tana Baker, 316-291-1974, tana_baker@cargill.com 2000 60,000 26 None 120 same sex Both NA 600-899 lbs. TX, KS, CO 50% or greater English, 3/16 or less Brahman S, W, P not required, but preferred Y N Cargill Beef and retail customers N/A
Cooperative Beef $olutions www.cooperativebeefsolutions.com Willie Altenburg, 970-568-7881; Tim Davis, 800-584-0040; Dan Dorn, 888-675-2212; Joe Young, 800-858-4330; Info@cooperativebeefsolutions.com 2003 N/A $15-$25/hd management improvement $10-$12/hd 1 load, 1 sex — will accommodate multiple owners Both Choice/3B 550-1,000 lbs. KS None S Y Y Feeder — Decatur County Feedyard; Packer — Excel; Genetics — Genex; Herd Management Programs — Midwest Micro Systems (Cow Sense) Shared in proportion of retained ownership
Five Star Cattle Systems, LLC Wendell Geeslin, General Manager, Magness Land and Cattle, 970-396-6958, wendell@magnesscattle.com, 1995 75,000 N/A No cost for basic group data. $3/hd. for individual; $8/hd. for complete data Load lots Both and Natural N/A 525-999 lbs. CO, MI, NE, PA, TX, WI Identifiable straight British and British cross and Continental feeders S, W, P, N, age Y N Magness Land and Cattle, Producers Feedlot, Choice Livestock, Select Feeders, Strauss Brands, Inc N
Gelbvieh Profit Partners, LLC www.profitpartnersllc.com Slim Cook, 307-272-2024, slimck@tribcsp.com 2005 4,000 TBD by lot None Truckload Both N/A N/A NE, KS, WA, ID, UT 25% Gelbvieh influence S and age verification Y N Y N
MFA Health Track Beef Alliance www.mfahealthtrack.com Mike John, 573-876-5573, mjohn@mfa-inc.com 1998 50,000 $54/hd None for members 1 N/A N/A N/A TX, KS, NE, MO, IL Low % Bos indicus and dairy S, W, P, standardized nutrition Y N/A No N/A
Missouri Verified Beef, LLC www.probeef.org Brad White, Dan Goehl, 573-288-3817, bradwhite@probeef.org or dangoehl@probeef.org 2001 N/A N/A 15 5 N/A N/A N/A N/A No dairy S, W, P Y N/A Confidential Y
NEMO Premier Beef Marketers, LLC Imogene Latimer, 573-439-5283, klatimer@marktwain.net N/A 350 Depends on year and feedlot results Call for information 1 Both N/A 550-1,000 lbs. KS,NE,IA 50% Angus or more W, P, S and age verification Y Y USPB and others N/A
Verified Beef www.verifiedbeef.net Andy Kellom, 406-867-2333, akellom@verifiedbeef.net 1999 >100,000 Varies with marketing Source and Age - $3 per head, Carcass Data Collection - $6 per head 1 N/A N/A N/A All U.S. None Source, Age Y N N N
Key: Grids geared to QG = quality grade, YG = yield grade, Both = quality and yield grade
Practices required: S = source verification, W = weaning, P = preconditioning, N = natural (i.e., typically prohibits the use of antibiotics and growth hormones)