2002 Trailblazer

Mike Byrne (left), cow-calf producer from Tulelake, CA, is presented the BEEF magazine Trailblazer Award by BEEF Senior Editor Clint Peck. Byrne was selected for his key role in focusing national media attention on the landowner impacts of arbitrary, non-science-based application of the Endangered Species Act.


New appointments to the National Cattlemen's Beef Association (NCBA) are as follows: Eric Davis, Bruneau, ID, president; Jan Lyons, Manhattan, KS, president-elect; and Jim McAdams, Lubbock, TX, vice president.

NCBA's Federation Division appointments include Bob Schmidt, Greenback, TN, as chairman and Bob Rolston, Denver, CO, as vice chairman.

In the Policy Division, Joe Tugaw, Twin Falls, ID, is named chairman with Mike Byrne, Tulelake, CA, serving as vice chairman.

The Cattlemen's Beef Board seats 35 board members and elects Andy Tucker, Rockledge, FL, to serve as chairman; and Nelson Curry, Parris, KY, as vice chairman.

2003 Winners

Michael and Cynthia Kelly, owners of Kelly Ranch on the southern edge of the Nebraska Sandhills, are winners of the 2003 National Environmental Stewardship Award. All livestock on the Kelly ranch are on a planned rotational grazing sysem, which not only increases available forages for the animals but increased wildlife population.

Meanwhile, Dave Wood, Coalinga, CA, wins National Cattlemen's Foundation and Ford Motor Co.'s Vision Award. An industry leader for more than 30 years, Wood has served on numerous state and national beef organizations.